learn discover access

Skip Navigation Linkschauncy
Skip Navigation LinksLINC Tasmania > features > Chauncy
26Ten LINC Tasmania on Facebook LINC Tasmania on YouTube LINC Tasmania on Instagram LINC Tasmania on Flickr LINC Tasmania on Eventbrite

​Nan Chauncy Travelling suitcase exhibition

Nan Chauncy was raised in Tasmania and wrote fourteen novels between 1947 and 1969, with many of the stories set in Tasmania. She was the first Australian to receive the Hans Christian Andersen Award diploma of merit. Nan Chauncy was also awarded the Children's Book Council of Australia (CBCA) Book of the Year three times for, Tiger in the bush (1958), Devil's Hill (1959) and Tangara (1961). ​

​Many of her books have been published internationally. Two of her books have been made into films, They found a cave and Devil's Hill.

The CBCA presents the Nan Chauncy Award every two years to recognise outstanding contributions to Australian children's literature.

Check out the exhibition in these locations

  • Hobart LINC 25 May to 16 June 
  • Rosny LINC 22 June to 13 July
  • Kingston LINC 22 July to 25 August
  • Devonport LINC 28 August to 20 September
  • Launceston LINC 25 September to 26 October​
  • Bridgewater LINC 27 October to 6 November